It's the law! Anyone born after January 1, 1998 must have completed a Boating Education Course approved by the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) before legally operating a motorized boat on Georgia state waters.
The Georgia Boat Safety Act also states that persons ages 12 through 15 may operate a personal watercraft (Jet Ski, Wave Runner, Sea-Doo, etc.) . . .if he or she: "Has passed a boating education course approved by the DNR. . ."
The Alabama Act of 1994 requires that every person 12 years of age or over who operates a motorized vessel on Alabama waters must have a Boater Safety Certification which will be coded on the Alabama driver's license.
The Boating Safety Course is offered by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and is approved by the Georgia DNR. Also covers the Alabama Boating Safety Act.
TWO CHOICES OF COURSES in 2016
All day Saturday Class: Fee $20.00 per student
On the 2nd Saturday of the month the course will be offered from 9:00am to 4:00pm EST completing in one day. Lunch, drinks and snacks are included.
Dates (choose one): April 9 May 14 June 11
Tuesday and Thursday Nights: Fee $15.00 per student
This course is covered over two evenings from 6:30pm to 9:30pm EST on the 3rd Tuesday and Thursday of the month. Drinks and snacks are included.
Dates (choose a month): April 19 & 21 May 17 & 19 June 21 & 23
July 19 & 21 August 16 & 18
How to Register
Reservations are required. At least 5 students are required for the class to be held. A maximum of 25 students can be accommodated in any one session.
Go online to register at www.gooutdoorsgeorgia.com Click here for instructions ---> BOATING CLASS BROCHURE
Call the Project Management Office at 706-645-2937 for help.
Online boating safety courses are also available. Visit www.boat-ed.com to take an online US Coast Guard approved course.